#### MAYORALTY & HONORARY FREEDOM SUB-COMMITTEE

# Meeting held on Monday 15 September 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in The Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon, CR0 1NX

## DRAFT MINUTES - PART A

Present: Councillors Stuart Collins, Toni Letts, Dudley Mead and Pat Ryan.

Absent: Councillors Mike Fisher and Tony Newman

Apologies: Councillors Mike Fisher and Tony Newman

#### **MINUTES - PART A**

A9/14 Appointment of Chair

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Stuart Collins be appointed Chair for the meeting.

A10/14 Minutes of the Meeting held on 27 January 2014

**RESOLVED** that the minutes of the meeting held on Monday 27th January 2014 be signed as a correct record.

A11/14 Disclosure of Interest

None

A12/14 Urgent Business (if any)

None

A13/14 Exempt Items

**RESOLVED** that the allocation of business between Part A and Part B of the Agenda be confirmed.

A14/14 Civic Awards

The Sub-Committee considered a report from the Director of Democratic and Legal Services noting the nominees' for receipt of Civic Awards and unanimously agreed to make recommendations to Council as set out below:

**RESOLVED** that the Council be recommended to agree to convene a Special Meeting of the Council to conduct the following business:

- 1.1 The granting of the Honorary Alderman/woman titles to all those who will be eligible, as detailed in report B2.
- 1.2 To convene a Special Meeting of the Council on Monday 6 October 2014.
- 1.3 To make arrangements for hospitality and awards as detailed in Section 4 of the report.

#### A15/14 Camera Resolution

**RESOLVED** that the Press and Public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the proceedings to be conducted, that there would be disclosure of confidential or exempt information falling within those paragraphs indicated in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended.

#### **MINUTES - PART B**

## A16/14 Part B minutes of the meeting held on 27 January 2014

**RESOLVED** that the Part B minutes of the meeting held on Monday 27th January 2014 be signed as a correct record.

### A17/14 Civic Awards

The Sub-Committee considered a report from the Director of Democratic and Legal Services for the admission to the role of Honorary Alderman/Alderwomen. Councillor Dudley Mead moved and Councillor Toni Letts seconded. The Sub Committee agreed that the report should be moved to Part A.

**RESOLVED** to recommend that Council grant the title of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen to the following: Eddy Arram

Janet Marshall David Osland Avril Slipper

**Graham Bass**